Faculty Advisor: Dr. Philip J. Bos

email: pbos@lci.kent.edu

phone: (330) 672-2511

Dr. Philip J. Bos is Associate Director of the Liquid Crystal Institute and an Professor in the Chemical Physics Interdisciplinary Program at Kent State University. He is also the fellow of SID 2002. He is the inventor of the pi-cell and an alignment method for SmC* devices. His research interests include novel liquid crystal devices and applications.


Education

  • Ph.D. Physics Kent State University May, 1978 (Deuterium Magnetic Resonance Studies of Orientational Order in the Liquid Crystalline Phases)
  • M.A. Physics Kent State University, Sept., 1974
  • B.A. Physics Hope College, June, 1973

Current Officers (2018-2019)


President

Sasan Shadpour
Email: sshadpou@kent.edu

Vice President

Senay Ustunel
Email: sustunel@kent.edu

Treasurer


Xiayu Feng
Email: xfeng4@kent.edu

Secretary

Ahlam Nemati
Email: anemati@kent.edu

Former Officers (2017-2018)


President

Taras Turiv
Email: tturiv@kent.edu

Vice President

Wei Chen
Email: wchen24@kent.edu

Treasurer


Jenieve Cumberland
Email: jcumber1@kent.edu

Secretary

Yunho Shin
Email: yshin2@kent.edu

Former Officers (2015-2016)


President

Kai-Han Chang
Email: kchang1@kent.edu

Vice President

Alireza Moheghi
Email: amoheghi@kent.edu

Treasurer


Vinay Joshi
Email: vjoshi2@kent.edu

Secretary

Andrii Varanytsia
Email: avaranyt@kent.edu