Holweck Prize awarded to Helen Gleeson

The Société Française de Physique and the Institute of Physics have awarded the 2012 Holweck Medal and Prize to Prof. Helen Gleeson of Manchester University for her contributions to understanding the structures and electro-optical properties of liquid crystals. The prize was established jointly in 1945 as a memorial to Fernand Holweck and other French physicists who suffered privation or met their deaths at the hands of the Nazis during the occupation of France from 1940 to 1945 and is awarded for distinguished work in experimental physics or in theoretical physics which is closely related to experiment.

Congratulations Helen !