British Liquid Crystal Society Awards

The recipients of the 2012 awards of the British Liquid Crystal Society were honoured last week at the annual meeting of the society, which this year was organised by Nigel Mottram of the Department of Mathematics of the University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, United Kingdom.

It is my pleasure to announce that Prof Noel A. Clark from the University of Colorado at Boulder received this year’s G.W. Gray medal for his outstanding contributions to the general field of liquid crystals, both fundamentally and applied. Prof Doug Cleaver from Sheffield Hallam University received the Hilsum medal for his contributions to the computer modelling of liquid crystals, and Dr Apala Majumdar from Oxford University was handed over the Young Scientist Award for her mathematical modelling of nematic liquid crystals at multiple scales. Congratulations to all recipients.

Ingo Dierking
School of Physics and Astronomy
University of Manchester